Hi everybody!

Thread: Hi everybody!

Tags: None

Majid said:

Smile Hi everybody!

I am here because I love songs and also because I have just started to learn Italian and I'll be listening to Italian songs and wondering what the words mean.

My mother tongue is not English (that is evident probably!), it's Farsi. I learned English on my own and in a very personal way. I didn't attend any classes (I hated English in school so that can be ignored), I didn't use any of book-cassette sets like Lingaphone, and finally, I didn't have anyone to practice with.

What I did, was recording some very interesting Radio Drama from BBC called 'Play of the Week' (Sir Michael Lyons, please don't sue me!) and listened to them many, many times. It took me around a year from the time I didn't understand any of what was said to when I could understand it quite well.

I am going to repeat that with Italian. It will be much easier than 20 years ago, when I started learning English. Now we have satellite TV and Radio stations, blogs, pod-casts, and youtube. I had none back in the days I learned English; all I had was a shortwave radio receiver and a cassette recorder/player.

If you know of good radio drama, talk shows, documentaries and podcasts in Italian, I'd be more than happy to hear about.

Thanks for reading.

Majid
    Last edited by Majid; 11-01-2009 at 05:04 PM. Reason: corrected a misspelled woed

razvy2 said:

Quote Originally Posted by Majid View Post
    I am here because I love songs and also because I have just started to learn Italian and I'll be listening to Italian songs and wondering what the words mean.

My mother tongue is not English (that is evident probably!), it's Farsi. I learned English on my own and in a very personal way. I didn't attend any classes (I hated English in school so that can be ignored), I didn't use any of book-cassette sets like Lingaphone, and finally, I didn't have anyone to practice with.