THE WORD - LA PALABRA (English - Spanish)

Thread: THE WORD - LA PALABRA (English - Spanish)

Tags: None
  1. mexico62 said:

Default THE WORD - LA PALABRA (English - Spanish)

This is my first attempt to write a poem in english that rhymes, hope is O.K, but any correction is welcome.
    I made an adaptation so de translation is not direct from one to other language, there are some differences.

THE WORD

My heart is searching for a Word
    I cannot find it cause it was for the two of us
    Since you left me to go around the world
    That word is lost among notes, dreams and thoughts.

I won´t be able to pronounce it, if you won´t hear,
    Because that word I used to say only for you.
    I know it will never come back to my lips
    And now I'm certain, that neither will you.

(Thanks to Frankie Jasmine and Doug Denslowe, for helping in corrections).

LA PALABRA.

Mi corazón busca una palabra
    y no puedo encontrarla,
    desde que partiste quedó olvidada
    entre apuntes y papeles en blanco.

No podré pronunciarla de nuevo
    porque era solo para ti
    yo sé que nunca volverá,
    tú tampoco.
    Last edited by mexico62; 07-06-2012 at 02:23 PM. Reason: general corrections

Frankie Jasmine said:

@mexico62: Very, very nice poem. I like it most because it makes me (the reader) really want to know what that word is! (Don't ever tell it!!) That is the beauty of the poem and why it attracts. At least for a woman . . . it makes her wonder, 'What is that word?' and 'Does my sweetheart feel that way about me?' One woman's opinion... And I like it very much.

Because you requested, there are the slight changes I'd make, for it to flow better in English. You wrote:

I know it will never to my lips come back
    And now I´m certain, that you neither will do.

I would change it slightly to:

I know it will never come back to my lips
    And now I'm certain, that neither will you