Palestinian vs. Lebanese Dialects

Thread: Palestinian vs. Lebanese Dialects

Tags: None
  1. duadazzling said:

Default Palestinian vs. Lebanese Dialects

Member najla asked me to tell her some differences between Palestinian & Lebansese dialects. I did what I could for her; I know I'm not an expert in Lebanese, but I gave it a shot. So don't kill me if I made any mistakes. Please correct my attempt & elaborate on the discussion!

forgive me, i don't have an arabic keyboard.

in palestinian arabic, there are two main dialects:
    Fala7i & Madani.

-fala7i is usually used by the older generations. fala7i replaces arabic letter ﻙ's sound, k, to ch.
    ex.: madani: keef 7alik? fala7i: cheef 7alich?
    younger generations generally try to stay away from the "ch."
    the fala7i dialect orginated from the fala7een, the real, hardcore palestinians from back in the day. (:

-madani is closer to the lebanese dialect. madani does not change the k to ch. but, unlike lebanese, speakers usually leave the letter ﻕ as it sounds.
    ex.: pali: qahwa (coffee) leb: 2ahwa
    *keep in mind that madani speakers also sometimes use the ﺀ in place of ﻕ

both fala7i and madani* keep the sound of as TH. whereas lebanese replace the sound of ﺙ with the sound of (t) ﺕ or sound of ﺱ (s)
    ex.: fala7i/madani: ethnaan (two) leb/madani: etnaan
    ex.: fala7i/madani: thawani (seconds) leb/madani: sawani

-for the word "like", palestinians use mithil as well as zay; zay is used more often.

-usually in lebanese, when a word ends with "ﻡ," (you plural) the lebanese replace the "ﻡ" with the "ن" wheras palestinians leave the "ﻡ."
    ex: leb: 3andkon (by you all) pali: 3andkom

-when you are talking about the present, in leb/madani dialect they use the word 3am (عم) for is & are. in fala7i/madani dialect they omit they عم and add b (ب) to the front of the verb. ب is used to mean is & are, also.

ex.:
    leb/madani: howi 3am yil3ab (bil3ab). (he is playing)