Please help - Slow, jazzy cover of Lady Marmalade

Thread: Please help - Slow, jazzy cover of Lady Marmalade

Tags: find, jazz, lady marmalade, moulin rouge
  1. rellin said:

Default Please help - Slow, jazzy cover of Lady Marmalade

Hi! I heard a very slow cover of Labelle's classic Lady Marmalade in the mall the other day, it was really different from any other version of this song I had ever heard. This has really been eating my brain, and I have spent hours googling and youtubing to no avail. Here's everything I can remember about the song:

The tempo is about 1/3 of the normal speed with very slow, sweet singing, there is no thumping bass line or anything heavy about it. I think because of the tempo, the song is quite long -- and I think the lyrics are identical to the original's.

Unfortunately I can't be very specific with regards to the instrumentation -- I'm a drummer, so I tend to pay attention to the rhythm section in music, but the vocals in this version really dominate, and I can't remember anything else but that slow, haunting "Gitcha gitcha yaya dada". I can't stress how slow this version is...if you've heard it before it's instantly recognisable.

2. Claybricks said:

Quote Originally Posted by rellin View Post
    Hi! I heard a very slow cover of Labelle's classic Lady Marmalade in the mall the other day, it was really different from any other version of this song I had ever heard. This has really been eating my brain, and I have spent hours googling and youtubing to no avail. Here's everything I can remember about the song:

The tempo is about 1/3 of the normal speed with very slow, sweet singing, there is no thumping bass line or anything heavy about it. I think because of the tempo, the song is quite long -- and I think the lyrics are identical to the original's.