Some Ukrainian Help?

Thread: Some Ukrainian Help?

Tags: None

Lumekuninganna said:

Default Some Ukrainian Help?

I just started volunteering to work with ESL students who need to learn English, and I've been paired with a woman from the Ukraine. She speaks Ukrainian and Russian (which is wonderful, because I'm studying Russian). But I just wanted to see if there are some native Ukrainians here who could give me advice, either about the language or culture (like, "make sure you don't do this because it's considered rude..."), or some useful phrases I could learn. There seem to be a lot of similarities between Ukrainian and Russian, am I right?

I'm just curious, and I want to learn about her culture as much as she wants to learn about America. I know that will happen over time, but it can't hurt to be prepared, right?

Thank you!
    Vanad teksad ja kitarr...
    Nad on mul kõik, mida vajan nüüd

Kalomira said:

I'm native Ukrainian
    you can ask me whatever you want

What useful phareses and so on you want?

Quote Originally Posted by Lumekuninganna View Post
    There seem to be a lot of similarities between Ukrainian and Russian, am I right?
    Seems yes, but there're much more similarities between Ukrainian and Polish
    Last edited by Kalomira; 05-28-2010 at 07:25 AM.
    Herkes kendi türküsünü söyler bu şehirde sadece kendi acısına ağlar

TheNuttyOne said:

I just started volunteering to work with ESL students who need to learn English, and I've been paired with a woman from the Ukraine. She speaks Ukrainian and Russian (which is wonderful, because I'm studying Russian). But I just wanted to see if there are some native Ukrainians here who could give me advice, either about the language or culture (like, "make sure you don't do this because it's considered rude..."), or some useful phrases I could learn. There seem to be a lot of similarities between Ukrainian and Russian, am I right?